I am exhausted

January 15, 2012 § 16 Comments

   I have done three 12 hour shifts in a row…. yet I cannot sleep.  I am so fucking high right now.  No, not like that.  I am on an emotional high.  So full of empty energy, bouncing like a 5 year old on a sugar rush.

   Today a dog was brought in.  He ate something he was not supposed to.  Whether allergic reaction or poison, unknown at the time, but very ill.  I had him on a table, hooking him into monitor equipment when it happened.  He stopped breathing.  His airway had totally swollen up.  at the time both VODs were in surgery.  Intubation was just not happening, his restricted airway was drawn up too tight.  Now I am not strictly speaking, allowed to cut into a patient.  But, under life or death situation, with a vet-tech there, I can perform life saving operations.  So, We (the vet-tech and I) did a tracheotomy.  Scared shitless, yep.  Successful, yep.  So here I sit, a pitbull-husky cross alive because of me.  Best day at work EVER.

§ 16 Responses to I am exhausted

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am exhausted at itsagaylifejamiessmiles.

meta

